Any Hope for Appleworks on Lion??

This forum is a self-help system for the exchange of ideas among AppleWorks users.

Any Hope for Appleworks on Lion??

Postby bgvchem » Fri Jul 13, 2012 1:20 am

As a teacher, I have some very old files that are Clarisworks, Appleworks, and Office.

When it comes to teacher's planning work - writing & designing worksheets, tests, quizzes, labs - Apple has no idea of how disrespectful towards their users that it is to not support older word processing software files.

I have been an Apple customer for the past 20 years. Here is what I have learned - For Apple, word processing software is only a fad - they are not serious about career oriented word processing. Apple does not care about supporting their word processing users, when I have spoken to Apple representatives on the phone or in their stores, they are very hard headed, clueless, and unwilling to admit any flaw in Apple's word processing "policy" over the years, and thus unwilling to help me try and find a work around.

In twenty years now, I have hundreds of lesson files - HUNDREDS! Every time that there is an update or a change in Apple's word processing, my files (which contain text & graphics , spreadsheet & some data base) are completely messed up- margins unaligned, font sizes slightly different, graphics distorted- what a mess. I have spoken on phone to Apple & even carried my laptop into an Applestore to demonstrate the inconsistency from one Apple word processing software to another.