DB file crashes with AW Windows version

This forum is a self-help system for the exchange of ideas among AppleWorks users.

DB file crashes with AW Windows version

Postby Harry » Fri Jul 22, 2005 11:20 am

I have been using AW now for probably 15 years. About 2 years ago I switched from Macs to PC on a new Dell because of some other applications I need to run on PC.
Currently am using AW 6.2.1 Windows version with XP Home Edition latest upgrades. Most of the crossover between Mac & PC have run seamlessly.
However, one of my databases is crashing.
This one database with over 400 names is beginning to crash more and more. The first field (LAST NAME) contains garbage instead of the last name in about 20 of the records.
It seems that every time I either scroll to or find that last name (in the records that contain garbage instead of the correct last name), it immediately crashes closing out the AW program.
Is there any solution other than to delete those 20 records and re-enter them?
Looking forward to your ideas to me at [email protected] (in San Diego).
Thanks, Harry Bennett Jr.
Harry

Re: DB file crashes with AW Windows version

Postby haumann » Fri Jul 22, 2005 10:50 pm

Harry wrote:This one database with over 400 names is beginning to crash more and more. The first field (LAST NAME) contains garbage instead of the last name in about 20 of the records.
It seems that every time I either scroll to or find that last name (in the records that contain garbage instead of the correct last name), it immediately crashes closing out the AW program.
Is there any solution other than to delete those 20 records and re-enter them?
Looking forward to your ideas to me at [email protected] (in San Diego).
Thanks, Harry Bennett Jr.