Files locked or in use

This forum is a self-help system for the exchange of ideas among AppleWorks users.

Files locked or in use

Postby Debbie Smith » Wed Jun 25, 2008 5:17 pm

My office recently upgraded to OSX Leopard on brand new Intel machines, the main one is an iMac and the other that the bookkeeper uses is a Mini. They are networked so that the Mini logs into my iMac and uses files that are housed on my hard drive. I've been using Appleworks for six years now with this setup with no problems, and knew from reading here and my AWUG newsletter that Appleworks should work well on the new Intel machines and Leopard.

Today the bookeeper tried to open an Appleworks database and got the message, " THIS FILE IS LOCKED OR IN USE. WOULD YOU LIKE TO OPEN A COPY OF IT?" 2 options are given, CANCEL AND OPEN A COPY. Neither of them works. She had to force quit to even get the message to go off the desktop.

These files open fine and can be altered and saved on the iMac, so it's not the files but something with Appleworks on the Mini. I tried opening a new file on the Mini, and I can open and start one, but it will not allow me to save anything, giving an error message.

I've done the following: Repaired permissions on both machines, reinstalled Appleworks on the Mini, checked for locked files (don't see any), re-started the computer several times.

Any ideas? I really don't want to give up Appleworks yet!
Debbie Smith

Re: Files locked or in use

Postby Barry » Thu Jun 26, 2008 2:01 am

Debbie Smith wrote:My office recently upgraded to OSX Leopard on brand new Intel machines, the main one is an iMac and the other that the bookkeeper uses is a Mini. They are networked so that the Mini logs into my iMac and uses files that are housed on my hard drive. I've been using Appleworks for six years now with this setup with no problems, and knew from reading here and my AWUG newsletter that Appleworks should work well on the new Intel machines and Leopard.